The Past And The Future


In a month from now, I will have been training in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu for five years. In this length of time, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu was perhaps the only steady thing in my life. These past three years, in particular, have taken me across the United States several times, through preposterous adventure after adventure, and almost exactly halfway across the world then back again.

Yes, back again. Seven months ago I had a conversation with a friend who had begun to make plans for something different, something special. With moving amounts of passion, he spoke to me about wanting to create something greater than the sum of its parts. Whether or not I wanted to participate was no longer a question. And so it was that a few days after our conversation I went home, planned my South American Fandango to its minutest detail, wrote everything down in a spiral…and then shelved it. After that, I packed my canvas bag and left.

Today marks the third month and fourth day since my return to Austin. I have spent my time on the mats, writing, catch up with old friends, and making new ones. You, my audience, are now officially ‘caught up.’

This is going to be a blog, first and foremost, about Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. Admittedly I do not have enough foresight, enough prescience of mind, to know precisely what it is about our martial art that will be found here. Rest assured though, my reader(s), the projected scope most assuredly include topics like technique, latest news, the academy where I train and my team, lessons learned on the mat, and Philosophy of Jiu-Jitsu.

To a lesser extent, there will undoubtedly be the occasional foray into other interests of mine. Is there even anyone out there who can fully disentangle and partition their interests into non-overlapping magisteria? My inclination is ‘no.’ But no matter. I will strive to keep all digressions somehow related, always well-informed, and reasonably brief (probably).

But let me make something clear here in the first entry. Irrespective of what it is that I have to say, I plan-promise-pledge to be additive to the quality of both our community’s dialogue and our martial art, our Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. Ego, pettiness, rumormongering – non-additives – will have no place here. Nor will I tolerate their presence. And neither should you by the way, here or elsewhere.

Please check in with me every couple of days for updates. Until then, happy trails.

Probably A Little Too Formal,

Justin

Leave a Reply

